The Rush University College of Nursing established a local honor society in 1976, one year after the graduation of the first class of baccalaureate nursing students. Faculty members who were already members of Sigma Theta Tau International chapters led the campaign to establish a Sigma Theta Tau chapter at Rush University. With support from Dr. Luther Christman, our dean at that time, members of the honor society established a steering committee whose charge was to start a Sigma Theta Tau International chapter at Rush.

On Oct. 22, 1977, the House of Delegates of Sigma Theta Tau voted to grant a charter to the Rush College of Nursing Honor Society. The Rush College of Nursing Honor Society became the fifth chapter in the state of Illinois. Our chapter name, Gamma Phi, is a result of us being the 91st STTI chapter with the names given sequentially based upon the Greek alphabet. The chartering ceremony took place on May 19, 1978. During the ceremony, 30 transfer members and 110 new members were inducted. Andrea Barsevick was elected the first chapter president. Since then, over 1,400 nurses have been inducted into the Gamma Phi Chapter.